## MINUTES OF A SPECIAL MEETING

OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION, NAPERVILLE COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT 203, DUPAGE AND WILL COUNTIES, ILLINOIS, HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE CENTER ON JANUARY 9, 2010 AT 8:00 A.M.

Call to Order

President Mike Jaensch called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. Board members present: Dave Weeks, Jim Dennison, Susan Crotty, Mike Jaensch and Terry Fielden. Board members unanimously agreed to allow Jackie Romberg and Suzyn Price to participate in the Closed Session by speaker-phone. (Suzyn Price hung up at 8:45 a.m.)

Administrators present were: Mark Mitrovich, Superintendent; Melanie Raczkiewicz, Associate Superintendent for Operations; Kitty Ryan, Assistant Superintendent for School Services and Programs. Also present was Robb Cooper, Ottosen Britz Kelly Cooper & Gilbert, LTD.

**Closed Session** 

Dennison moved, seconded by Weeks to go into Closed Session at 8:00 a.m. for the consideration of:

Student Discipline 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(9).

A roll call vote was taken. Those voting yes: Dennison, Crotty, Romberg, Price, Fielden, Jaensch and Weeks. No: none. Motion carried

unanimously.

Call to Order Fielden moved, seconded by Dennison to return to Open Session at 8:55

a.m. A roll call vote was taken. Those voting yes: Weeks, Crotty, Fielden,

Romberg, Jaensch, and Dennison. No: none. The motion carried.

Roll Call Board members present: Dave Weeks, Susan Crotty, Terry Fielden, Jackie

Romberg (by speaker phone), Jim Dennison, and Mike Jaensch.

Public Comment None

Discussion with Action

Approve Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) for the Department of

Education Race to the Top

Weeks made a motion for District 203 not to support the Memorandum of Understanding for the Department of Education Race to the Top. Fielden seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken. Those voting yes: Weeks, Crotty, Fielden, Romberg, Dennison, and Jaensch. No: none. Motion carried.

Adjournment Fielden moved, seconded by Dennison to adjourn the meeting at 9:05 a.m. A

voice vote was taken. Those voting yes: Fielden, Weeks, Romberg, Crotty, and

Dennison. No: none. Motion carried unanimously.

Approved January 19, 2010

Mike Jaensch, President Mark A. Mitrovich, Secretary Pro Tem Board of Education **Board of Education**